Summer Opportunities

Posted on April 8, 2013

3


The dry season is usually coined with summer. A few years back, I got to meet a successful businessman. He greeted me his beautiful smile and said, “Good Morning!”. At that time, I got confused so I asked him, “Good morning? But it’s 8 o’clock in the evening.” You know what he said? “In business, you never say good night because then you’ve ended your day seeking for something new without knowing if your business the day before is finished.” So, pondered on his words and I then it hit me. Continuity. In my previous post, I talked about how I lived my life with balance. For him, he lives his life with continuity. Just because he says good morning (at anytime of the day) does not limit him to new opportunities or to open new doors, but instead, he just keeps on opening doors without closing the ones behind.

For most people, summer is a time to go to the beach and have fun. Get tanned and get bikini lines. But, for me, summer brings new opportunities and new beginnings. A new outlook over the horizon. We may find new hobbies and new explorations, but the lessons we have learned from the previous seasons will always be on our minds. Don’t be afraid of missing opportunities. Behind every failure is an opportunity somebody wishes they had missed. We are all faced with a series of great opportunities brilliantly disguised as impossible situations, so that people may not recognize them. It is up to us to grab each one. No matter how small. Don’t wait for extraordinary opportunities. Seize common occasions and make them great. One opportunity leads directly to another, just as risk leads to more risk, life to more life, and death to more death. Life is a gift, and it offers us the privilege, opportunity, and responsibility to give something back by becoming more.

But, what shall I do if I need new opportunities and it’s not summer yet? DON’T WAIT FOR SUMMER. Life opens up new opportunities. Best if we always prepare for it. It is better to be prepared for an opportunity and not have one than to have an opportunity and not be prepared. Prepare for it, and someday it will come. From the famous words of Milton Berle, “If opportunity doesn’t knock, build a door!”

 

